Boston Philharmonic Orchestra

Schubert / Mahler Concert & LiveStream

Schubert                                    Symphony No. 8
(25 minutes)

Das Lied von der Erde
(63 minutes)

Benjamin Zander, conductor

Dame Sarah Connolly, mezzo-soprano

Stefan Vinke, tenor




Schubert's "Unfinished" Symphony, deservedly one of the most popular of all classical compositions, is a work I have conducted many times, always with the deepest affection and always amazed anew at its endless beauty. 

Das Lied von der Erde (The Song of the Earth), Mahler's supreme creation for voice and orchestra and one of his most beloved works, is a setting of six Chinese poems in German translation that reflect preoccupations that Mahler held throughout his life: the transi­toriness of earthly things, the intoxication of love, the horrifying irony with which death mocks all human endeavor, and the ulti­mate need of everyone to surrender his attachments to this world and accept what is to come. Neither Mahler nor anyone else ever composed music of more poignant beauty than the "Abschied" (Farewell) the long final movement of this symphonic song cycle.   -Benjamin Zander


This is a live concert that will be live streamed! Be sure to read through our support page for Boston Philharmonic virtual events.


Franz Schubert Symphony No. 8 in B minorD. 759 

  • Begun in 1822 Symphony No. 8 is best known as Schubert's "Unfinished" Symphony because he only composed two movements for it. 
  • Scholars debate about why Symphony No. 8 was unfinished including suggestions that Schubert was busy with his Wanderer Fantasy for solo piano. Read more about the history of this piece.

Gustav Mahler Das Lied von der Erde ("The Song of the Earth")

  • The Boston Philharmonic will be joined by mezzo-soprano, Dame Sarah Connolly. The Times, London praises her "it was the mezzo Sarah Connolly who sang straight from the heart. I won’t forget her final Der Abschied: that cool flute and menacing double bass, then a voice of rich, lunar beauty lighting up this long farewell.” As well as renown tenor Stefan Vinke who as praised by Bachtrack "I don’t think there’s another tenor in the world who can hit the levels Vinke does and make it sound so casual."
  • A song cycle for orchestra and two voices. Composed by Mahler in 1908 and 1909. Read more about Das Lied von der Erde here.

Information for ticket buyers

  • All Boston Philharmonic Orchestra concerts make use of a stage extension. This makes row E the first row directly in front of the stage. View Symphony Hall Seat Maps to see where the extension overlaps and where any viewer obstructions are located before you choose your seats.
  • If you are choosing to have your tickets emailed to you, your tickets are print-at-home and not digital or e-tickets. This means that you will receive an email with PDF attachments. One PDF per ticket that you purchased. You must print your PDF ticket(s) out and bring them with you to the concert. Print-at-home tickets are a convenience for ticket buyers so that they may receive their tickets right away.
  • View our Ticket Policies page for further information.

All dates, repertoire, venues, and artists subject to change.


Single ticket sales will begin on August 22nd!

Friday, April 14, 2023
8:00PM / Symphony Hall
Guide to the Music with Benjamin Zander, 6:45pm.

View Symphony Hall Seat Map

See our Orchestra map for common instrument locations as they would appear on stage.

Need help with the livestream? Visit support for Boston Philharmonic virtual events

Contact for questions about the Livestream.



All visitors must present full proof of vaccination or a negative COVID-19 test each time they enter Symphony Hall. Fully vaccinated is defined as having had your second COVID-19 vaccination at least two weeks before your concert date.

Accepted vaccines include those authorized (either fully or for emergency use) by the Food and Drug Administration or the World Health Organization.

Options for proof of vaccination:

  • Vaccination card
  • Photo of vaccination card
  • Digital vaccine record

Acceptable COVID-19 tests:

  • PCR test taken within the last 72 hours
  • Antigen test taken within the last 24 hours

  • Proof of a negative test can be in the form of a photo or email of negative test results from a clinic, testing center, medical professional, or a time-stamped photo of an at-home test.

 Review the current Covid-19 policies for further information. 

For the 2021-2022 concert season all concerts will be held at Symphony Hall. To help you plan your visit please read:

Symphony Hall Policies