Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra

Benefit for Ukraine Relief: Shostakovich/ Prokofiev / Tchaikovsky Concert


Festive Overture

(6 minutes)


Piano Concerto No. 3

(30 minutes)


Symphony No. 6

(45 minutes)


Benjamin Zander, conductor

 Alexander Korsantia, Piano

The Boston Philharmonic stands in solidarity with Ukraine. All ticket sales from this concert will be donated to the Ukraine Tensions: No Child Forgotten program to assist some of Ukraine's most vulnerable children suffering from Russia's unprovoked invasion of Ukraine.

"Georgian pianist Alexander Korsantia’s performances—alone, with orchestra, and in chamber music—have garnered accolades around the world, and the list of conductors he has worked with is a veritable Who’s Who. Critics everywhere have commented on his perfect technique and extraordinarily burnished tone, but perhaps what is most remarkable about him is the uniquely personal vision of everything he plays. There is never a note without a deeper intent behind it. Prokofiev’s headlong Third Piano Concerto, one of the hardest and most exhilarating in the repertory, will, for many, be their dazzling introduction to this major musician whom we are fortunate to have as a resident of Boston.

-Benjamin Zander

Donate to Ukraine Tensions No Child Forgotten Program


Sergei Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3 - 30 minutes

  • Sergei Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 3 was completed in 1921. Fragments of it were begun in 1913.
  • The piece premiered on December 16, 1921, with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Sergei Prokofiev performing the piano solo.
  • New England Conservatory piano faculty member Alexander Korsantia joins the BPYO as soloist. His previous performance of this piece with the Boston Philharmonic Orchestra garnered critical acclaim:

    "Korsantia shone brightest in the variations of the second movement. But throughout, from the fiery first movement to the haunting third, he played with the sensitivity of a chamber musician. The orchestra, under Zander’s guide, wrapped Korsantia in silvery sheets of sound."
    -Aaron Keebaugh, Boston Classical Review


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6, Pathétique  - 45 minutes

  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky's final symphony, his Symphony No. 6, also known as the Pathétique, was completed in 1893. 
  • Originally titled "The Passionate Symphony," in Russian Pateticheskaya, which means "passionate" or "emotional." This title was (mis-)translated into French as pathétique.
  • When composing Symphony No. 6, Tchaikovsky wrote to his brother about the symphony:
    "I am now wholly occupied with the new work ... and it is hard for me to tear myself away from it. I believe it comes into being as the best of my works. I must finish it as soon as possible, for I have to wind up a lot of affairs and I must soon go to London. I told you that I had completed a Symphony which suddenly displeased me, and I tore it up. Now I have composed a new symphony which I certainly shall not tear up."

Information for ticket buyers

  • All Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra concerts make use of a stage extension. This makes row E the first row directly in front of the stage. View Symphony Hall Seat Map to see where the extension overlaps and where any viewer obstructions are located before you choose your seats.
  • If you are choosing to have your tickets emailed to you, your tickets are print-at-home and not digital or e-tickets. This means that you will receive an email with PDF attachments. One PDF per ticket that you purchased. You must print your PDF ticket(s) out and bring them with you to the concert. Print-at-home tickets are a convenience for ticket buyers so that they may receive their tickets right away.
  • View our Ticket Policies page for further information.

All dates, repertoire, venues, and artists are subject to change.

FRIday, May 6, 2022

8:00PM / Symphony Hall
There will be no pre-concert Guide to the music with Benjamin Zander before the concert.



Need help with the livestream? Visit support for Boston Philharmonic virtual events

Contact for questions about the livestream.


All visitors must present full proof of vaccination or a negative COVID-19 test each time they enter Symphony Hall. Fully vaccinated is defined as having had your second COVID-19 vaccination at least two weeks before your concert date.

Accepted vaccines include those authorized (either fully or for emergency use) by the Food and Drug Administration or the World Health Organization.

Options for proof of vaccination:

  • Vaccination card
  • Photo of vaccination card
  • Digital vaccine record

Acceptable COVID-19 tests:

  • PCR test taken within the last 72 hours
  • Antigen test taken within the last 24 hours

  • Proof of a negative test can be in the form of a photo or email of negative test results from a clinic, testing center, medical professional, or a time-stamped photo of an at-home test.

  • While indoors at Symphony Hall everyone 2 years and older must wear a CDC-approved mask that covers their nose and mouth regardless of vaccination status.

All visitors to Symphony Hall must wear masks while in the building.

 Review the current Covid-19 policies for further information. 

For the 2021-2022 concert season all concerts will be held at Symphony Hall. To help you plan your visit please read:

Symphony Hall Policies