Boston Philharmonic Orchestra

Mendelssohn/ Prokofiev/ Brahms


The Hebrides Overture


Violin Concerto No. 2


Symphony No. 4


Benjamin Zander, conductor

Stefan Jackiw, violin



One of the U. S.'s foremost violinists Stefan Jackiw, called "One of the most insightful violinists of his generation" by the Boston Globe, returns to Boston to perform Prokofiev's 2nd Violin Concerto with the BPO.

Felix Mendelssohn  The Hebrides Overture (Fingal's Cave) - 10 minutes

  • Felix Mendelssohn wrote The Hebrides (originally titled To the Lonely Island or Zur einsamen Insel) in 1830.

  • Mendelssohn was inspired after a trip to the British Isles and the Scottish island of Staffa in 1829. On this island is a basalt sea cave called Fingal's Cave.

  • The Boston Philharmonic last performed The Hebrides Overture in April 1989.

Sergei Prokofiev  Violin Concerto No. 2 - 28 minutes

  • Sergei Prokofiev wrote Violin Concerto No. 2 while on concert tour with French violinist Robert Soetens. Prokofiev wrote about this experience "the number of places in which I wrote the Concerto shows the kind of nomadic concert-tour life I led then. The main theme of the 1st movement was written in Paris, the first theme of the 2nd movement at Voronezh, the orchestration was finished in Baku and the premiere was given in Madrid."

Johannes Brahms  Symphony No. 4 - 40 minutes

  • Symphony No. 4 is Johannes Brahms's final symphony.

  • Brahms's Symphony No. 4 premiered in Meiningen, Germany, on October 25, 1885.

  • Brahms began work on this symphony just one year after completion of his Symphony No. 3.


All dates, repertoire, venues, and artists subject to change.


Wednesday, November 10, 2021 8:00 PM / Symphony Hall
Guide to the music with Benjamin Zander, 6:45pm.

View Symphony Hall Seat Map

See our Orchestra map for common instrument locations as they would appear on stage.



For the 2021-2022 concert season all concerts will be held at Symphony Hall. To help you plan your visit please read:

Symphony Hall Guidelines