Boston Philharmonic Orchestra

Britten / Bartok / Shostakovich Concert & On Demand

"Passacaglia" from Peter Grimes
(7 minutes)

Piano Concerto No. 3
(23 minutes)

Symphony No. 10
(57 minutes)

Benjamin Zander, conductor

Benjamin Hochman, piano






It may seem strange to begin a concert with a seven-minute opera excerpt but bear with me. The “Passacaglia” from Benjamin Britten’s Peter Grimes, with its ominous and foreboding opening viola solo, is the highlight of the opera where the narrow-minded and blinkered townspeople close in on their prey. Similarly, Shostakovich’s 10th Symphony composed just after the death of Stalin, depicts the confrontation between the dictator himself (portrayed in the harrowing 2nd movement) and the terrified composer (identified by the initials of his name spelled out in musical notation). Britten and Shostakovich deeply admired each other’s work and related to each other around the notion of persecution - personal, political, and artistic.
The soloist for the second concert is also new to us. Benjamin Hochman, who will play the Bartók 3rd Piano Concerto, came to my attention when my friend, Mark Churchill, raved about the extraordinary experience–both musical and personal–of his performance of this very work with Symphony Pro Musica. Hochman is a profound artist, as you can hear in his rendition of Schubert, so he will be perfect for this heartfelt and radiant work, which Bartok composed as a love letter to his wife while lying in a New York hospital awaiting death from cancer. Because of his illness, the final 17 bars had to be composed by a friend.

When I heard that the Bartók 3rd was Ben Hochman's favorite piano concerto, and I realized I hadn’t performed it since I did it with the great Russell Sherman and the Civic Symphony nearly 50 years ago, I decided it would go wonderfully between the “Passacaglia” from Peter Grimes  (written in the same year, 1945) and the Shostakovich (eight years later), complimenting the theme of the concert.
This is a concert about the capacity of human beings to overcome enormous odds. There is much tragedy in this music, but finally, it is a concert in which the three composers, each in their distinctive way, offer us, through their profound art, a pathway to courage.

-Benjamin Zander

  • Pianist and conductor Benjamin Hochman has been praised by The New York Times "Classical music doesn't get any better than this."
  • The Seattle Post-Intelligencer raved “Hochman’s demeanor is poised, and quietly confident. His playing is beautiful to hear. From the first moment, his crisp, articulated touch was noticeable, clear but not forceful, even with pedal, and he shaped the phrases in the long cadenza with grace.” 
  • This will be the Boston Philharmonic's first performance of Bartok's Piano Concerto No. 3.
  • Listen to Pianist Benjamin Hochman and the English Chamber Orchestra. 

This is a live concert that will be live-streamed! Be sure to read through our support page for Boston Philharmonic virtual events. Our Live Streams and On Demand events are viewable on computers, smartphones, and tablets. We cannot guarantee that you will be able to view these events on your television at this time.

Information for ticket buyers

  • All Boston Philharmonic Orchestra concerts make use of a stage extension. This makes row E the first row directly in front of the stage. View Symphony Hall Seat Map to see where the extension overlaps and where any viewer obstructions are located before you choose your seats.
  • If you are choosing to have your tickets emailed to you, your tickets are print-at-home and not digital or e-tickets. This means that you will receive an email with PDF attachments. One PDF per ticket that you purchased. You must print your PDF ticket(s) out and bring them with you to the concert. Print-at-home tickets are a convenience for ticket buyers so that they may receive their tickets right away.
  • View our Ticket Policies page for further information.

All dates, repertoire, venues, and artists subject to change.

Friday, November 17, 2023, 8:00 PM / Symphony Hall
Guide to the music with Benjamin Zander, 6:45pm.  

Contact for questions about the livestream

COVID-19 Concert policies

  • No proof of vaccine is required for entry.
  • A negative Covid-19 test is not required for entry.
  • Masks are encouraged but not required to be worn while inside Symphony Hall. 

 Review the current Covid-19 policies for further information. 

For the 2023-2024 concert season, all concerts will be held at Symphony Hall. To help you plan your visit please read

Symphony Hall Policies