Boston Philharmonic Youth Orchestra


Ravel                                                            Daphnis and Chloé, Suite no. 2

Arias (TBD)   

Tchaikovsky                                                        Symphony No. 6


Benjamin Zander, conductor

Pumeza Matshikiza, soprano



For the final concert of the season, we bring together works by composers who demonstrate extraordinary strength while confronting extreme emotional pressures.

Tchaikovsky’s Sixth Symphony finds the composer at the height of his creative powers, despite living uneasily in a culture that rejected the very essence of his being. His final composition, the Pathetique, is one of the greatest tragic utterances in the history of music. No degree of familiarity with the work lessens its power to touch us, and it seems to reach places within us that only this work can. -Benjamin Zander

Ravel Daphnis and Chloé, Suite no. 2 - 18 minutes


Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6 - 46 minutes


All dates, repertoire, venues, and artists subject to change.

Make a Donation

Canceled in accordance with the health directives of the CDC and Governor Baker.

View the latest information here